Men’s Bowling Club2018-11-12T09:43:39+10:00

Men’s Bowling Club

Our club is a medium size club within the South Coast District Bowling Association. We compete in District Pennants and District Championships as well as numerous tournaments throughout the region.
We have had success in recent years in all grades of pennants having won District Flags in all of our grades and even a Zone flag. Our bowlers have won numerous District Championships and have completed at Zone level.


Danny Nash , Kevin Dickens & Ken O’Day 19 def 15 Harry Forbes , Ron Shoveller & Warwick Hunt ( winners lucky rink draw ).

Alan Liebert & Barry Epple 31 def 17 Roy Cartledge & Lenny Thomas

Ray Lowe & Ian Carre 24 def 5 Ken France & Arthur Hanneman


                  ALF COOK PAIRS 10TH / 11TH APRIL 2019

28 Teams entered the 2 day event . Played over 6 games of 11 ends . perfect weather greeted the teams on both days , the greens were in magnificent order ( thanks to Luke & Chris for all the hard work they put in ). After 2 hard fought days of bowls the defending champions of 2018 were successful again in 2019 . 1st place with 6 wins + 53 margin were Scott Bateup  & John Green

2nd place with 6 wins + 34 margin were Luke Griggs & Dave Caldwell . Dave came in at late notice to partner Luke who has only a handful of competitive games under his belt and they combined very well together over the 2 days .

3rd place with 5 wins + 19 margin Nick Fowler & Mark Hobbill . 4th place with

5 wins + 5 margin from Wentworthville Brian Lemon & Brian Wildson . 5th place with 4 wins , 1 draw + 47 margin were Shawn Chrisison & Jamie Preo .

Culburra Beach mens bowls would like to thank the main club & Julie Cauci from Ray White real estate for their sponsorship of this event.

                      MINOR SINGLES SEMI FINALS

Brendon Hughes 31 def 15 Luke Griggs , Trevor McGuire 31 def 15 Lenny Thomas .


Rick Neilsen 31 def 30 Stephen Munce , Garry Melleuish 31 def 22 Ian Carre

Laurie McLean 31 def 15 Ron Kirk , Geoff Steinhour 31 def 18 Chris James .



Both Wednesday twilight bowls & Friday social bowls had good numbers attending. Thank you to all who played on both days. With the minor & major singles being played out on Sunday the 7th April I would like to concentrate on these results.  3 matches in the minor pairs were completed to leave our semi final matches . Luke Griggs 31 def 27 Mark Englert , Trevor McGuire 31 def 25 Ray Lowe  . Gongrats to Ray & Luke playing in their first competitions have shown great t potential going forward at our club . Brendon Hughes 31 def 24 Brett Gilligan . Brendon winning 6 of the last 7 ends prevailed in a hard fought contest . Lenny Thomas 31 def 26 Ken O’Day, after 41 ends Lenny outlasted Ken being the last game left on the green ..

Major pairs results . Ron Kirk 31def 22 Jeff Brownjohn , Ian Carre 31 def 22 Barry Epple , Chris James 31 def 22 Alan Gardiner , Rick Neilsen 31 def 16 Peter Johnson ,Geoff Steinhour 31 def 25 Col Wilson ,Stephen Munce 31 def 2 Kevin Ryan ,Gary Melleuish 31 def 28 John Dallas , Laurie McLean 31 def 17 Arthur Hanneman .

As soon as the Indian & Chinese bookmakers have processed all the results from Sunday . Markets will be released for the Minor Semi Finals and the Major Quarter Finals .  well done to all who played on Sunday providing good bowls for those attended .


Wayne Chalmers & Arthur Hanneman  18 def 14 K.France & Barry Epple

( 1st prize lucky rink draw )

Dennis Foster & Ian Carre 22 def 11 John Castellan & Neil Watson

Brendon Hughes & Geoff Blackshaw 18 def 11 Laurie Turner & John Dallas

Ron Shoveller & Mark Englert 24 def 12 Bill & Peter Gatt

Danny Nash & Roy Cartledge 27 def 10 Phil Rynehart & Ron Kirk



             PENNANTS RD5 SATURDAY 23RD MARCH 2019

                  GRADE 3  v St Georges Basin ( Away )

A great win the boys to claim the big board 59 to 53 beating the undefeated Basin side . John Slingsby’s side winning 27 to 17 helped get the result after the other scores were against us 18 to 21 & 14 to 15 . John Dallas was responsible for shot of the with his last bowl turning 2 shots down into a 3 shots up . Alto Geoff Steinhour pointed out if he trailed the jack an extra foot he would of made 5 . So don’t be short next time John .

                 GRADE 5  V St Georges Basin ( Home )

Again a home win eludes the grade 5 boys going down 19 to 17, 13 to 22 & 16 to 25  ( 64 to 48 ) . a hard loss to take with how close the competition is .

                         MAJOR SINGLES 1ST ROUND

Chris James 31 def 17 John Slingsby

Geoff Steinhour 31 def 30 Laurie Turner

Alan Gardiner 31 def 10 John Castellan

                          MINOR SINGLES 1ST ROUND

Brett Gilligan 31 def 9# Hans Wetsteyn

Mark Englert 31 def 19 Richard Grayson

Brendon Hughes 31 def 22 Ken France

Ken O’Day 31 def 25# Chris Cotton

# Ray Lowe 31 def 29 Kevin Dickens

Lenny Thomas 31 def 17 Peter Dwyer

#  Luke Griggs 31 Def 30 Alan Liebert .

Well done to our new bowlers # on their first singles club championship games.

View the Archives

Winners 3rd
Col Norris and Ron Meadowns

Winners – Runners Up
Scott Mathieson and Glen Dixon

Winners 4th
Geoff Blackshaw and Geoff Steinhour

Winners 5th
Scott Bateup and Brian Warden

Winners 6th
Don Barnes and Steve Beazley

Game 4 Winners
Garry Melleuish and Chris James

Game 2 Winners
Jim Hibbert and Alan Gardiner

Game 1 Winners
Peter Delamont and Rod Loosemore

Social Bowls

Social bowls are played on Wednesday and Friday afternoons. Nomination can be made by recording your name on the entry sheets at the bowls office at any time or by telephoning on the day to the Bowls Office before 12 midday on (02) 4447-3853. The game commences at 1 pm. Green fees for the day are $5.00 with prize-money and jackpots available depending on entry levels.
There are many social bowls events played throughout the year on weekends; these events are posted on the notice boards at the bowls office
All of our social bowls events are open to all bowlers of all levels; beginners, experienced, men, women, juniors. Visitors are always welcome.
Social bowls are played in mufti (casual clothing, club rules apply) but we ask that suitable footwear to be worn.


We play all Club Championships at our Club including State Singles and Pairs, Triples, Fours.

All minor championships and mixed championships.

New Bowlers

New bowlers are always welcome. We will teach anyone. We have 6 male and 1 female accredited coaches. It is best to speak to a coach about learning to play and learning the correct way rather than learning from a friend (who may teach you bad habits.)


2 major tournaments in a year:

Alf Cook Pairs – $2000.00 Prize Money – Mid Week of March
Mixed Pairs are played in September and October midweek.


Any inquiries can be directed to the Bowls Office within the main club which is available on Wednesday and Friday (between 10:00 am and 4:00 pm).
Jim Hibert – President
Rick Neilsen – Secretary
Kevin Dickens – Treasurer
Stephen Munce – Bowls Organiser, Coach
Phone – (02) 4447-3853
Email – [email protected]

Your above the fold CSS (copy the text bellow) :